DIY Christmas Gift Round Up

Since I currently have an excess of free time and a shortage of money, I’ve decided that I’m going to try giving only handmade gifts for Christmas this year. I’m sure there will be a couple of exceptions, but for the most part I’m going to either knit, can, crochet, or craft all the gifts I’ll be giving out. Therefore, I’ve been spending a lot of time exploring the “DIY and Crafts” section on pinterest. Here’s a list of things I found that I think would make awesome gifts.

Cable Knit Throw

I’m making this throw for my younger sister for Christmas. She had requested a blanket for her gift, and out of the options I gave her, this is the one she chose. It’s an easy pattern to follow, as long as you know how to knit and purl. It’s also given me lots of practice with cables.

cable knit throw

Booties

How cute are these knitted and crocheted booties? These would make an excellent gift for someone who (like me) tends to get cold and needs something comfy to keep them warm in those colder months.

booties

Winter Spice Jelly

This winter spice jelly would be perfect as part of a Christmas gift. With spices like cinnamon, star anise, and nutmeg, I’m sure it would taste just like Christmas in a jar.

winter spice jelly

Yoga Socks

For the yogi in your life, these socks are both easy to knit and are super practical for yoga in the winter.

yoga socks

Tea Cozy

There are quite a few “tea grannies” in my family, so there might be more than a few of these tea pot cozies being given out this Christmas. Pinterest is full of cute crocheted tea cozy patterns, but I like this one for it’s elegant simplicity.

tea cozy

This cute tea cup sleeve could also be made to go with the tea pot cozy.

tea cup sleeve

Brandied Cherries

If you’re like me and have a ton of mason jars and brandy kicking around, consider making some canned brandied cherries.

brandied cherries

Dog Bone

I made one of these dog bones a long time ago (when I first started knitting) for our min pin Belle. She loved it so much, and it was one toy that none of our dogs was able to un-stuff. I’ll definitely be making more of these this Christmas.

dog bone

Baby Blanket

I’ve already finished making a baby blanket for my niece for this Christmas, but I am totally in love with this honeycomb blanket! It’s definitely on my list for things to make in the future (maybe when I have another niece or nephew to spoil).

baby blanket

Quince Jelly

And of course I’ll be giving out some of my homemade quince jelly this year. It is such a beautiful ruby red colour- perfect for Christmas.

quince jelly

Leave a comment