Life Updates + Moscow Mule Recipe

Hey everyone, sorry I’ve been a little MIA lately.  Lots of exciting things happening in my life that seem to have distracted me from blogging.  As some of you may know, I am an aspiring veterinarian.  This last fall, I sent in my application for veterinary school at the Western College of Veterinary Medicine in Saskatoon.  The process of accepting applicants is quite drawn out, and I was starting to wonder if I would ever hear from them about an interview offer.  I finally got an email from the college on May 15th, and they wanted to interview me on the 25th!  I basically had to put my life on hold so that I could fly to Saskatoon for the interview on such short notice.  Although I was incredibly nervous, I felt like my interview went really well, and it was a very positive experience.  However, all applicants are ranked on their grades, and then given an interview score, these two scores are combined and only the top 20 applicants are accepted.  They only interview 40 people so the fact that I even got the chance to interview is fantastic.  I’m still waiting to hear back from the college about their final decision, which could take up to a couple of weeks.

20150524_185546

University Bridge over the South Saskatchewan River in Saskatoon

I also received some excellent news on Monday the 25th.  I entered a short story I had written into a creative writing contest recently.  My piece was chosen as the winner!  My prize is that I get to attend the “Write on the Beach” workshop hosted by the Federation of BC Writers in June, and at the workshop I get to read my piece.  I am so incredibly excited for this opportunity.  Writing has always been a passion of mine, and it feels great to be recognized for my writing.

So, I flew to Saskatoon on the 24th, had my interview on the 25th, got the good news about the writing contest while still in Saskatoon, flew back home the evening of the 25th, and was up bright and early in the morning on the 26th to ride the Heart and Stroke Foundation Big Bike!  It’s been a crazy few days, to say the least.  My team and I successfully raised $1220 for the Heart and Stroke Foundation.  I surpassed my goal of raising $100 myself, and ended up raising over $500!

riding the big bike

riding the big bike

20150526_113338

team banana republic

And to round out this blog post (because it doesn’t already contain enough amazingness), I thought I’d include a yummy drink recipe.  Moscow mule mugs seem to be quite popular lately. Every time I walk into HomeSense, Winners, or Pier 1, I see them. They’re great for cold beverages on a hot day because they actually keep your drink nice and cool.  And of course, what better drink to have out of a Moscow mule mug than a Moscow mule itself. Here’s how I make mine:

ingredients to make a delicious moscow mule

ingredients to make a delicious moscow mule

yumm

yumm

 

Moscow Mule

Ingredients:

  • Ice
  • Lime wedge
  • 1 oz. vodka
  • ½ cup ginger beer (Old Jamaica Ginger Beer works best in my experience)

Method:

  • Squeeze lime wedge into mug
  • Fill the mug with ice
  • Add ginger beer and vodka
  • Mix with a stir stick and serve

Enjoy!

-Kristen

One thought on “Life Updates + Moscow Mule Recipe

  1. Congrats on the interview! And fingers crossed you get in! I had always wanted to be a vet growing up, but decided in high school that there was no way I’d get in with the small numbers they let in and my zero experience other than my pets… That is all super exciting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

