Heart and Stroke Foundation Big Bike

Tomorrow is my 25th birthday!  I’m not quite sure how I feel about turning 25 yet.  This last year has been somewhat of a difficult one for me, with moving to a new city, the struggles of finding a job, and the waiting game of applying for vet school for the second time.  I’m hoping that this next year brings me more success in terms of my career and figuring out what I want to do with this life of mine.

One thing that I have to look forward to next month is taking part in the Heart and Stroke Foundation Big Bike event!  I think we all know someone who has suffered from cardiovascular disease, whether it be a relative, a friend, or even a co-worker.  One of my co-workers, who is only in his early 30s, recently suffered a heart attack.  I remember learning in second year developmental biology (don’t ask me for a reference for this one please, it was so long ago haha) that the lower your birth weight, the more likely you are to suffer from heart disease later in life.  Since I was only 4lbs when I was born, my chances of developing heart disease are much higher than most people I know.

I am currently in the fundraising stages of my campaign, and I would really appreciate any donations you can make towards this great cause.  Please visit this link to make a donation to me and my team.  I have already reached my initial fundraising goal of $100, but I know that with your help I can raise so much more.

And because no blog post is complete without a picture, here is a cute one of me with a little muley fawn taken last summer:

IMG_2582-Kristen

2 thoughts on “Heart and Stroke Foundation Big Bike

Leave a Reply

